Friday, August 11, 2017

2017 Hugo Award Winners Announced

The winners have been announced for the Hugo Awards, presented annually since 1955 by the World Science Fiction Society, to recognize the best in science fiction and fantasy.

They were announced at the 75th World Science Fiction Convention in Helsinki, Finland, on August 11.

2017 Hugo Award Winners

Best Novel
  • The Obelisk Gate by N. K. Jemisin (Orbit Books)

Best Novella
  • Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire ( Publishing)

Best Novelette
  • The Tomato Thief by Ursula Vernon (Apex Magazine, January 2016)

Best Short Story
  • Seasons of Glass and Iron by Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood: New Fairy Tales, Saga Press)

Best Related Work
  • Words Are My Matter: Writings About Life and Books, 2000-2016 by Ursula K Le Guin (Small Beer)

Best Graphic Story
  • Monstress, Volume 1: Awakening, written by Marjorie Liu, illustrated by Sana Takeda (Image)

Best Dramatic Presentation – Long Form
  • Arrival, screenplay by Eric Heisserer based on a short story by Ted Chiang, directed by Denis Villeneuve (21 Laps Entertainment/FilmNation Entertainment/Lava Bear Films)

Best Dramatic Presentation – Short Form
  • The Expanse: “Leviathan Wakes”, written by Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby, directed by Terry McDonough (SyFy)

Best Editor – Short Form
  • Ellen Datlow

Best Editor – Long Form
  • Liz Gorinsky

Best Professional Artist
  • Julie Dillon

Best Semiprozine
  • Uncanny Magazine, edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, Michi Trota, Julia Rios, and podcast produced by Erika Ensign & Steven Schapansky

Best Fanzine
  • Lady Business, edited by Clare, Ira, Jodie, KJ, Renay, and Susan

Best Fancast
  • Tea and Jeopardy, presented by Emma Newman with Peter Newman

Best Fan Writer
  • Abigail Nussbaum

Best Fan Artist
  • Elizabeth Leggett

Best Series
  • The Vorkosigan Saga by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)

John W Campbell Award for Best New Writer
Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer, sponsored by Dell Magazines. (Not a Hugo Award, but administered along with the Hugo Awards.)
  • Ada Palmer (1st year of eligibility)

Big Heart Award
  • Carolina Gómez Lagerlöf

Fandom Hall of Fame Award
  • Les and Es Cole

Fandom Hall of Fame Award (Posthumous)
  • Jim Harmon

Fandom Sam Moskowitz Archive Award
  • Jon D. Swartz