Monday, February 22, 2016

The 2015 SFWA Nebula Awards Finalists Announced

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America have announced the finalists for this year’s Nebula Awards, along with contenders for the Ray Bradbury and Andre Norton Awards.

Each year, the organization’s members vote on which stories they consider to be the best novel, novella, novelette, short story and Young Adult story in the genre, as well as the best outstanding dramatic presentation.

The Nebula Awards Ceremony will be held at the Palmer House Hilton in Chicago, Illinois, May 14, 2016.

Best Novel

  • 'Raising Caine', Charles E. Gannon (Baen)
  • 'The Fifth Season', N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • 'Ancillary Mercy', Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • 'The Grace of Kings', Ken Liu (Saga)
  • 'Uprooted', Naomi Novik (Del Rey)
  • 'Barsk: The Elephants’ Graveyard', Lawrence M. Schoen (Tor)
  • 'Updraft', Fran Wilde (Tor)

Best Novella

  • 'Wings of Sorrow and Bone', Beth Cato (Harper Voyager Impulse)
  • 'The Bone Swans of Amandale', C.S.E. Cooney (Bone Swans)
  • 'The New Mother', Eugene Fischer (Asimov’s April-May 2015)
  • 'The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn', Usman T. Malik ( April 22 2015)
  • 'Binti', Nnedi Okorafor (
  • 'Waters of Versailles', Kelly Robson ( October 6 2015)

Best Novelette

  • 'Rattlesnakes and Men', Michael Bishop (Asimov’s February 2015)
  • 'And You Shall Know Her by the Trail of Dead', Brooke Bolander (Lightspeed February 2015)
  • 'Grandmother-nai-Leylit’s Cloth of Winds', Rose Lemberg (Beneath Ceaseless Skies November 6 2015)
  • 'The Ladies’ Aquatic Gardening Society', Henry Lien (Asimov’s June 2015)
  • 'The Deepwater Bride', Tamsyn Muir (F&SF July-August 2015)
  • 'Our Lady of the Open Road', Sarah Pinsker (Asimov’s June 2015)

Best Short Story

  • 'Madeleine', Amal El-Mohtar (Lightspeed June 2015)
  • 'Cat Pictures Please', Naomi Kritzer (Clarkesworld January 2015)
  • 'Damage', David D Levine ( January 21 2015)
  • 'When Your Child Strays From God', Sam J Miller (Clarkesworld July 2015)
  • 'Today I Am Paul', Martin L Shoemaker (Clarkesworld July 2015)
  • 'Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers', Alyssa Wong (Nightmare October 2015)

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

  • 'Ex Machina', Written by Alex Garland
  • 'Inside Out', Screenplay by Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley; Original Story by Pete Docter, Ronnie del Carmen
  • 'Jessica Jones: AKA Smile', Teleplay by Scott Reynolds & Melissa Rosenberg; Story by Jamie King & Scott Reynolds
  • 'Mad Max: Fury Road', Written by George Miller, Brendan McCarthy, Nick Lathouris
  • 'The Martian', Screenplay by Drew Goddard
  • 'Star Wars: The Force Awakens', Written by Lawrence Kasdan & J.J. Abrams and Michael Arndt

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy

  • 'Seriously Wicked', Tina Connolly (Tor Teen)
  • 'Court of Fives', Kate Elliott (Little, Brown)
  • 'Cuckoo Song', Frances Hardinge (Macmillan UK 5/14; Amulet)
  • 'Archivist Wasp', Nicole Kornher-Stace (Big Mouth House)
  • 'Zeroboxer', Fonda Lee (Flux)
  • 'Shadowshaper', Daniel José Older (Levine)
  • 'Bone Gap', Laura Ruby (Balzer + Bray)
  • 'Nimona', Noelle Stevenson (HarperTeen)
  • 'Updraft', Fran Wilde (Tor)