Friday, August 19, 2016

1941 Retro Hugo Award Winners

The 1941 Retro-Hugo Awards were presented at a ceremony on Thursday, August 18, 2016 at MidAmeriCon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention. MidAmeriCon II elected to present Retro-Hugo Awards for works first published in 1940 that would have been eligible for the 1941 Hugo Awards had there been Awards presented in 1941.

The 1941 Retro Hugo Award trophy base was designed by Brent Simmons.

The Retro Hugo Awards were first presented at Loncon 3 in 2014, in celebration of the 75th anniversary of the first World Science Fiction Convention in 1939. The Hugo Awards were first awarded in 1953.

1941 Retro Hugo Award Winners

Best Novel
Slan, AE Van Vogt (Astounding Science‐Fiction, December 1940)

Best Novella
“If This Goes On…”, Robert A. Heinlein (Astounding Science-Fiction, February 1940)

Best Novellette
“The Roads Must Roll”, Robert A. Heinlein (Astounding Science-Fiction, June 1940)

Best Short Story
“Robbie”, Isaac Asimov (Super Science Stories, September 1940)

Best Graphic Story
Batman #1, (Detective Comics, Spring 1940)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)
Pinocchio, written by Ted Sears et al., directed by Ben Sharpsteen and Hamilton Luske (Walt Disney Productions, RKO Radio Pictures)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form)
Fantasia, written by Joe Grant and Dick Huemer, directed by Samuel Armstrong et al. (Walt Disney Productions, RKO Radio Pictures)

Best Editor (Short Form)
John W Campbell

Best Professional Artist
Virgil Finlay

Best Fanzine
Futuria Fantasia, edited by Ray Bradbury

Best Fan Writer
Ray Bradbury