Monday, February 20, 2017

The 2016 SFWA Nebula Awards Finalists Announced

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America have announced the finalists for this year’s Nebula Awards, along with contenders for the Ray Bradbury and Andre Norton Awards.

Each year, the organization’s members vote on which stories they consider to be the best novel, novella, novelette, short story and Young Adult story in the genre, as well as the best outstanding dramatic presentation.

The Nebula Awards Ceremony will be held from Thursday, May 18 through Sunday, May 21 at the Pittsburgh Marriott City Center.

Best Novel
  • 'All the Birds in the Sky', Charlie Jane Anders (Tor; Titan)
  • 'Borderline', Mishell Baker (Saga)
  • 'The Obelisk Gate', N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • 'Ninefox Gambit', Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris US; Solaris UK)
  • 'Everfair', Nisi Shawl (Tor)

Best Novella
  • 'Runtime', S.B. Divya ( Publishing)
  • 'The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe', Kij Johnson ( Publishing)
  • 'The Ballad of Black Tom', Victor LaValle ( Publishing)
  • 'Every Heart a Doorway', Seanan McGuire ( Publishing)
  • 'The Liar', John P. Murphy (F&SF 3-4/16)
  • 'A Taste of Honey', Kai Ashante Wilson ( Publishing)

Best Novelette
  • 'The Long Fall Up', William Ledbetter (F&SF May/June 2016)
  • 'Sooner or Later Everything Falls Into the Sea', Sarah Pinsker (Lightspeed February 2016)
  • 'Red in Tooth and Cog', Cat Rambo (F&SF March/April 2016)
  • 'Blood Grains Speak Through Memories', Jason Sanford (Beneath Ceaseless Skies March 2016)
  • 'The Jewel and Her Lapidary', Fran Wilde ( Publishing)
  • 'You’ll Surely Drown Here If You Stay', Alyssa Wong (Uncanny May/June 2016)

Best Short Story
  • 'Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies', Brooke Bolander (Uncanny November/December 2016)
  • 'Seasons of Glass and Iron', Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)
  • 'Sabbath Wine', Barbara Krasnoff (Clockwork Phoenix 5)
  • 'Things With Beards', Sam J. Miller (Clarkesworld June 2016)
  • 'This Is Not a Wardrobe Door', A. Merc Rustad (Fireside Magazine January 2016)
  • 'A Fist of Permutations in Lightning and Wildflowers', Alyssa Wong ( March 2016)
  • 'Welcome to the Medical Clinic at the Interplanetary Relay Station│Hours Since the Last Patient Death: 0', Caroline M. Yoachim (Lightspeed March 2016)

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation
  • 'Arrival', Directed by Denis Villeneuve, Screenplay by Eric Heisserer, 21 Laps Entertainment/FilmNation Entertainment/Lava Bear Films/Xenolinguistics
  • 'Doctor Strange', Directed by Scott Derrickson, Screenplay by Scott Derrickson & C. Robert Cargill, Marvel Studios/Walt Disney Studio Motion Pictures
  • 'Kubo and the Two Strings', Directed by Travis Knight, Screenplay by Mark Haimes & Chris Butler; Laika Entertainment
  • 'Rogue One: A Star Wars Story', Directed by Gareth Edwards, Written by Chris Weitz & Tony Gilroy; Lucusfilm/ Walt Disney Studio Motion Pictures
  • 'Westworld: The Bicameral Mind', Directed by Jonathan Nolan, Written by Lisa Joy & Jonathan Nolan; HBO
  • 'Zootopia', Directed by Byron Howard, Rich Moore, & Jared Bush, Screenplay by Jared Bush & Phil Johnston; Walt Disney Pictures/Walt Disney Animation Studios

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy
  • 'The Girl Who Drank the Moon', Kelly Barnhill (Algonquin Young Readers)
  • 'The Star-Touched Queen', Roshani Chokshi (St. Martin’s)
  • 'The Lie Tree', Frances Hardinge (Macmillan UK; Abrams)
  • 'Arabella of Mars', David D. Levine (Tor)
  • 'Railhead', Philip Reeve (Oxford University Press; Switch)
  • 'Rocks Fall, Everyone Dies', Lindsay Ribar (Kathy Dawson Books)
  • 'The Evil Wizard Smallbone', Delia Sherman (Candlewick)