Sunday, May 21, 2017

2016 Nebula Awards Winners Announced

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America have announced the winners for this year’s Nebula Awards for works published in 2016, along with the Ray Bradbury and Andre Norton Awards.

Each year, the organization’s members vote on which stories they consider to be the best novel, novella, novelette, short story and Young Adult story in the genre, as well as the best outstanding dramatic presentation.

Best Novel
  • 'All the Birds in the Sky', Charlie Jane Anders (Tor; Titan)

Best Novella
  • 'Every Heart a Doorway', Seanan McGuire ( Publishing)

Best Novelette
  • 'The Long Fall Up', William Ledbetter (F&SF May/June 2016)

Best Short Story
  • 'Seasons of Glass and Iron', Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation
  • 'Arrival', Directed by Denis Villeneuve, Screenplay by Eric Heisserer, 21 Laps Entertainment/FilmNation Entertainment/Lava Bear Films/Xenolinguistics

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy
  • 'Arabella of Mars', David D. Levine (Tor)