Wednesday, May 02, 2018

2018 Arthur C Clarke Award Shortlist For Science Fiction Book Of The Year Announced

The shortlist the 32nd Arthur C Clarke Award has been announced.

The Arthur C Clarke Award is the UK’s most prestigious prize for literary science fiction, and is administered by the Serendip Foundation, a non-profit organisation with the mission of promoting both excellence in and the extension of science fiction.

The 6 shortlisted titles were selected from a list of 108 individual eligible submissions, and the winner will be announced at a public award ceremony held in partnership with Foyles Bookshop, Charing Cross Road, on Wednesday July 18 2018.

The winner will also be presented with a cheque for £2018 and the award itself, a commemorative engraved bookend.

The 2018 Shortlist
  • Sea of Rust , C Robert Cargill (Gollancz)
  • Dreams Before the Start of Time, Anne Charnock (47North)
  • American War,  Omar El Akkad (Picador)
  • Spaceman of Bohemia,  Jaroslav Kalfař (Sceptre)
  • Gather the Daughters, Jennie Melamed (Tinder Press)
  • Borne,  Jeff VanderMeer (4th Estate)