Monday, September 26, 2016

2016 British Fantasy Award Winners Announced

The nominees for the 2016 British Fantasy Awards have been announced by the British Fantasy Society. The winners were revealed at Fantasy Con 2016 in Scarborough, UK at the end of September.

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)
  • 'Uprooted', Naomi Novik (Macmillan)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)
  • 'Rawblood', Catriona Ward (Weidenfeld & Nicholson)

Best Novella
  • 'The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn', Usman T. Malik (

Best Short Fiction
  • 'Fabulous Beasts', Priya Sharma (

Best Collection
  • 'Ghost Summer: Stories', Tananarive Due (Prime Books)

Best Anthology
  • 'The Doll Collection', ed. Ellen Datlow (Tor Books)

Best Independent Press
  • Angry Robot (Marc Gascoigne)

Best Non-Fiction
  • 'Letters to Tiptree', ed. Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein (Twelfth Planet Press)

Best Magazine/Periodical
  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies, ed. Scott H. Andrews (Firkin Press)

Best Comic/Graphic Novel
  • 'Bitch Planet: #2-5', Kelly Sue DeConnick, Valentine De Landro, Robert Wilson IV and Cris Peter (Image Comics)

Best Artist
  • Julie Dillon

Best Film/Television Production
  • 'Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell', Peter Harness (BBC One)

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J Bounds Award)
  • Zen Cho, for 'Sorcerer to the Crown' (Macmillan)