Tuesday, September 06, 2016

2016 Harvey Awards Winners

The 29th Annual Awards were presented on Saturday September 3, 2016 part of this year's Baltimore Comic Con.

The Harvey Awards are named in honour of the late Harvey Kurtzman, the cartoonist and founding editor of MAD magazine, and selected entirely by creators.

Best Writer
Brian K. Vaughan, Saga, Image Comics

Best Artist
Fiona Staples, 'Saga', Image Comics

Best Cartoonist
Stan Sakai, Usagi Yojimbo

Best Letterer
John Workman, Ragnarok, IDW Publishing

Best Inker
Klaus Janson, Dark Knight III: The Master Race, DC Comics

Best Colourist
Laura Allred, Silver Surfer, Marvel Comics

Best Cover Artist
Fiona Staples, 'Saga', Image Comics

Most Promising New Talent
Tom King, The Vision, Marvel Comics

Best New Series
Paper Girls, Image Comics

Best Continuing or Limited Series
'Saga', Image Comics

Best Syndicated Strip or Panel
Bloom County, Berkeley Breathed, Universal Uclick

Best Anthology
Peanuts: A Tribute To Charles M. Schulz, KaBOOM!/BOOM! Studios

Best Graphic Album - Original
March: Book Two, Top Shelf Productions

Best Graphic Album - Previously Published
The Less Than Epic Adventures Of Tj And Amal, Iron Circus Comics

Best Single Issue or Story
Peanuts: A Tribute To Charles M. Schulz, BOOM! Studios

Best Domestic Reprint Project
Crimson VOL. 1, BOOM! Studios

Best American Edition of Foreign Material
Tie: Two Brothers, Dark Horse Books
Corto Maltese: Beyond The Windy Isles, IDW Publishing

Best Online Comics Work
Battlepug, Mike Norton, battlepug.com

Special Award for Humor in Comics
Chip Zdarsky, Howard The Duck, Marvel Comics

Best Biographical, Historical, or Journalistic Presentation
March: Book Two, Top Shelf Productions

Best Original Graphic Publication for Young Readers
'Lumberjanes', BOOM! Box (BOOM! Studios)

Special Award for Excellence in Presentation
Peanuts: A Tribute To Charles M. Schulz, Scott Newman, KaBOOM!/BOOM! Studios