Wednesday, July 26, 2017

2017 World Fantasy Award Nominees Announced

2017 World Fantasy Award nominees have been announced. The awards will be presented during the World Fantasy Convention, held during November 2-5 in San Antonio, TX.

The Lifetime Achievement Awards, presented annually to individuals who have demonstrated outstanding service to the fantasy field, will go to Terry Brooks and Marina Warner.

A new design for the World Fantasy Awards, sculpted by Vincent Villafranca, will also be awarded this year.


  • Borderline, Mishell Baker (Saga)
  • Roadsouls, Betsy James (Aqueduct)
  • The Obelisk Gate, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • The Sudden Appearance of Hope, Claire North (Redhook; Orbit UK)
  • Lovecraft Country, Matt Ruff (Harper)

Long Fiction

  • The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe, Kij Johnson ( Publishing)
  • The Ballad of Black Tom, Victor LaValle ( Publishing)
  • Every Heart a Doorway, Seanan McGuire ( Publishing)
  • “Bloodybones,” Paul F. Olson (Whispered Echoes)
  • A Taste of Honey, Kai Ashante Wilson ( Publishing)

Short Fiction

  • “Das Steingeschöpf,” G.V. Anderson (Strange Horizons December 12 2016)
  • “Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies,” Brooke Bolander (Uncanny November/December 2016)
  • “Seasons of Glass and Iron,” Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)
  • “Little Widow,” Maria Dahvana Headley (Nightmare September 2016)
  • “The Fall Shall Further the Flight in Me,” Rachael K. Jones (Clockwork Phoenix 5)


  • Clockwork Phoenix 5, Mike Allen, ed. (Mythic Delirium)
  • Dreaming in the Dark, Jack Dann, ed. (PS Australia)
  • Children of Lovecraft, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Dark Horse)
  • The Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy 2016, Karen Joy Fowler & John Joseph Adams, eds. (Mariner)
  • The Starlit Wood, Dominik Parisien & Navah Wolfe, eds. (Saga)


  • Sharp Ends, Joe Abercrombie (Orbit US; Gollancz)
  • On the Eyeball Floor and Other Stories, Tina Connolly (Fairwood)
  • A Natural History of Hell, Jeffrey Ford (Small Beer)
  • Vacui Magia, L.S. Johnson (Traversing Z Press)
  • The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories, Ken Liu (Saga; Head of Zeus)


  • Greg Bridges
  • Julie Dillon
  • Paul Lewin
  • Jeffrey Alan Love
  • Victo Ngai

Special Award, Professional

  • L. Timmel Duchamp, for Aqueduct Press
  • C.C. Finlay, for editing F&SF
  • Michael Levy & Farah Mendelsohn, for Children’s Fantasy Literature: An Introduction(Cambridge University Press)
  • Kelly Link, for contributions to the genre
  • Joe Monti, for contributions to the genre

Special Award, Non-Professional

  • Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Neile Graham, for fostering excellence in the genre through her role as Workshop Director, Clarion West
  • Malcom R. Phifer & Michael C. Phifer, for their publication The Fantasy Illustration Library, Volume Two: Gods and Goddesses (Michael Publishing)
  • Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, for Uncanny
  • Brian White, for Fireside Fiction Company